Dyer County was created in October of 1823 following a treaty between the Chickasaw Indians and Andrew Jackson in 1818.  Dyer County is a pleasant blend of agriculture and industry and is made up of three incorporated towns.

Dyersburg was built on what was known as McIver's Bluff by the Okeena River. It became known as Dyersburg when the town was incorporated in 1850.

Newbern is located on land that was originally part of a 5,000 acre grant owned by J. W. Clark, incorporated in 1857.

Trimble had it's beginnings in 1873, the result of the building of a railroad from Paducah, KY to Memphis which ended at a bluff near the Dyer County line just across the Obion River.